28 July 2014

Planning to drive in California? Read about auto insurance laws.

Driving in California: What You Need to Know About Auto Insurance Laws

Driving in California, particularly in one of the big cities like Los Angeles or San Francisco can seem like a stressful task, even if it is an essential one for many people. While you may have to get used to driving in the area, you'll need to understand and obtain California auto insurance before you jump in the car and get moving. Use this guide to help.

How Much Coverage?

Obtaining auto insurance in California is relatively easy, though you may be wondering how much coverage you really need. The answer is that you need $15,000 to $30,000 worth of insurance to cover injuries or death to one or more person, as well as $5,000 worth of coverage to take care of property damage. Hopefully you won't ever need your coverage, but you need to be protected by law.

Should I Get Comprehensive Coverage?

Comprehensive coverage provides compensation for damage to your car, other vehicles and any injuries to others. However, if you have an older car, you may not need it. You'll need to weigh the monthly cost of the coverage to how much your car is really worth. Paying an extra $100 per month may not be a good idea if your car only has a resale value of $2,000.

If you happen to be leasing a car, you'll likely be required to carry comprehensive coverage in just about every case. Without out, the dealer would be responsible for damage on a new vehicle, which could be costly.
Blog Widget by LinkWithin